Contact Us

General Placement Exam Questions 

For questions re: dates, registration, timelines, accessing results, placement exam policies, accommodations, or the Harvard College Language Requirement. 

Office of Undergraduate Education 
placement-help@fas.harvard.edu 

Writing Placement Exam Questions

Harvard College Writing Program 
expos@fas.harvard.edu 

Technical Questions 

For questions re: technical issues.  

Please note that if your computer freezes or crashes while taking the exam, you can be reassured that the exams are designed to auto-save as you progress through the questions. It is likely that you will be able to reopen the exam. If you are unable to access the exams, please refer to Online Placement Exams Authorization information. 

Harvard University Information Technology (HUIT) 
ithelp@harvard.edu, 617-495-9000 

HUIT Help Desk Hours 

Exam Submission Questions 

For questions re: the submission of Advanced Placement, SAT II, or IB (HL only) exam score reports. 

FAS Registrar’s Office 
placementexams@fas.harvard.edu 

Advising Questions  

Questions about your exam score and course recommendation should be addressed by the specific academic department. You may find advising contacts by department listed below. 

Languages

African Languages: 

Dr. Bojana Coulibaly, bojana_coulibaly@fas.harvard.edu

American Sign Language:  

Kathryn Davidson, kathryndavidson@fas.harvard.edu    

Celtic Languages:                                                                                                                              

Mary Violette, violette@fas.harvard.edu 

The Classics:                                                                                                                                        

Latin and Greek (Ancient): Dr. Ivy Livingston, livings@g.harvard.edu
Greek (Modern): Dr. Calliope Dourou, dourou@fas.harvard.edu                                                      

East Asian Languages:  

Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Vietnamese: Rebecca Mahoney, eal@fas.harvard.edu
Literary/Classical Chinese: David Sena, dsena@fas.harvard.edu  

Germanic Languages:  

German: Dr. Lisa Parkes, parkes@fas.harvard.edu
Scandanavian Languages: Dr. Agnes Broomé, agnesbroome@fas.harvard.edu 

Near East Languages:     

Arabic: Nader Uthman, naderuthman@fas.harvard.edu                                                                                                                                                                                                                    Hebrew (Modern): Irit Aharony, aharony@fas.harvard.edu                                                                                                                                                                                          Persian: Mojtaba Ebrahimian: mebrahimian@fas.harvard.edu                                                                                                                     
Turkish (Ottoman & Modern): Himmet Taskomur, taskomur@fas.harvard.edu
 

Romance Languages:                                                                                                                          

French, Italian, and Portuguese: Nicole Mills, mills@fas.harvard.edu
Spanish: Maria Luisa Parra, parra@fas.harvard.edu 

Slavic Languages 

Steven Clancy, sclancy@fas.harvard.edu. 

South Asian Languages 

Richard Delacy, rdelacy@fas.harvard.edu.

Life Sciences

Students interested in concentrating in the Life Sciences are advised to take courses in Life Sciences, chemistry, and mathematics during their first year. Find more information in the Life Sciences Advising Booklet.

Biology

Monique Brewster, mbrewst@fas.harvard.edu.
Dominic Mao, dominicmao@fas.harvard.edu

Chemistry

Gregg Tucci, tucci@fas.harvard.edu.

Math

Read the First Year Math Advising page for information on interpreting a math placement score and how to request placement advising over the summer.

Music Theory

Direct music theory questions to musicdpt@fas.harvard.edu.